Can we disabled the Import/Export button for designer's? .We are in the cloud environment (19.3)
Thanks and RegardsVenkatesh S
I don't believe you can. Interested to know why you'd want to. If you have issues with people updating stuff they shouldn't - then restrict their access to the system they are importing too, and implement a proper change control system ?
Thanks for the reply pauls.The main objective of this is planning to give only the designer access for the vendor's and disabled the import/export application/patch functionality.All the deployment process should go through by us with only one system administrator account, Also we can include the deployment steps[Use only one Deployment user account] in the process and ask them to follow the process but at the same time plan to disable the Import/Export access for them.
hmmmm why not just give them the command line option ?
Hi Pauls, Can I know what exactly you mean by command line option?
Sure Pauls .. We can do the deployments from the command line with sys admin account But When provide the designer access to the those users[Vendors], default they will able to see the Import/Export button Right?.So again here they have ability to Import/Export Application Packages/patches.
yep correct, ultimately I think it's down to a training issue. Those actions are logged so they won't be able to deny importing a 'quick change' onto live and breaking it ;)
Why would you want to give designer access to vendors in the first place?
That being said - though you can't turn off import/export, i believe you could use normal security settings to lock down the main application artifacts in such a way that they're only editable (or even viewable) by specific user groups. This would at least allow you to protect your production objects from accidental interference either via import or via manual editing by unauthorized users.
Agreed with Mike - if you don't give them Designer access in Test or Production, then there's no need to enable / disable the button because it won't be possible to import the app.
You might also be able to solve this using application security. Only editors have the ability to import an application or patch, so the option would be disabled if they are only viewers of the application. Viewers can export the application, but I don't know what they would do with it if they can't import it
Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible
© 2020 Appian. All rights reserved.