Just completed a fresh install of 7.8 on my sandbox (using VMWare). Database sta

Just completed a fresh install of 7.8 on my sandbox (using VMWare). Database starts up, Appian suite engines seem to start up (i.e. no errors)..so far so good. I start JBoss and it begins the process but then I get the following error:
Error occurred during initialization of VM Could not reserve enough space for object heap

I was thinking I just needed to add some heap space to the JVM but then my spidey-sense tells me that on an initial install with a vanilla config there might be more to it.

Any advice would be appreciated.

My system details:
Win7
JBoss 6.3 EAP
Oracle XE 11g
JDK 1.7.0_71
Everything running on VMware Fusion 7.1.0 (for what it's worth)

I also included a screen shot of the console running JBoss.

..and yes, I am an Appian newbie... :)...

OriginalPostID-135450

OriginalPostID-135450

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

• 1. Is there adequate free memory on the VM for JBoss to start?
    2. Is this a 32-bit or 64-bit JDK?
  • I did check the JDK and it is 64-bit. I reviewed a few similar threads as well as the system requirements and it turned out to be there wasn't enough RAM on my VM. I upped the RAM and also doubled the values for ms, mx, PermSize and MaxPermSize in my JBoss standalone.conf file and I got past this issue..JBoss starts now.

I'm having some new issues with my system but I think it's because I missed a few steps when setting up the datasources which I am reviewing now and will post under a new topic if I can't resolve.

Thanks!
  • How much RAM do you have on your box? With the current JVM settings, 4GB box would be to small to initialize it, especially if you have kicked off your engines already.