Number of documents effect the performance in system?

In live system, we have around 3.5 million documents stored in knowledge centres.

Will this effect the performance in System?

If we those documents to any FTP server, will performance of system increases ?

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

• Hi Rahul, I'm not good with Server Administration. But from Our experience I can suggest to remove the unused or unreferenced documents from knowledge center. The increase in Documents occupies more space. Some times to due to space issue. Search server responds very slow and cannot able to upload documents through file upload field.
  • As long as system resources are scaled appropriately and good design patterns are followed, I don't consider it problematic to have that many documents. Appian is designed to support that volume of usage, and I'm aware of several customers who have a similar (or greater) number of documents. (One scalability pattern that may be particularly worth considering is having an HA configuration, since this will allow for improved concurrency and throughput, with multiple nodes available to service read calls.)

As you can imagine, the greatest strain on the system would be anywhere that you're asking the system to consider all 3.5 million documents at once. For example, if you had them all in a single KC and then opened that KC; accessing the All Objects view in Appian Designer without any type filters applied to filter out documents (since documents are, of course, Appian objects); or having a document picker that had the ability to suggest any of the 3.5 million documents. Of course, we continue to work to make these cases even faster too.