Having trouble writing data to data store entity

Hi all,

I am a beginner in Appian and I have come across a problem that I've debugged for an hour but can't find the solution to. I'm attempting to write data to a data store entity and I continue to get the following error:

Problem:  An error occurred in executing an Activity Class.

Details:  An error occurred while trying to write to the entity "vehicle_parts" [id=7241da9e-15f3-402f-ae6d-b0f08195974e@87648, type=VFM_Part (id=3724)] (data store: VFM DS CK). Details: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: The record to be saved must not be null: TypedValue[it=3724,v=<null>] Data: TypedValue[it=3724,v=<null>]

Recommended Action:  Examine the activity class to correct the error and then resume.

Priority of this problem: High Priority

Does anyone have any idea how to solve this? If it helps, I'm also having trouble finding the created table after I save and publish my data store with no issues.

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

• I guess I'm just puzzled as to why I'm having this issue because in the last two practice applications I created, I never had to define the table annotation in the XSD; it always saved to the entity I created in the data store. What you're saying definitely makes sense, my question now is how would I change the table name? Because the fact that it is saving to vfmpart tells me that my code is working, I just would need to change the name of something so that it doesn't save to someone else's table that is also named vfmpart, which is what is happening now. so should I change the CDT? or something else? Basically how do I solve this issue now that I know what the issue is?
  • Hi chynnak,

You can download the DDL script that is generated after publishing the data store. In that script you can find the table name that need to save the data and configure the data store entity node inputs and outputs.

Thanks,
    Sravani.