Query from query

Hello, everyone. First of all: I'm new to Appian.

I have several very complex views in a PostgreSQL database that I want to replace in some way with intermediary appian objects that allow me to build the views logic step by step. Is there a way to build some kind of record type that has in-built logic from other record types or data store entities? Is there a way to call the result of some query from within another query and to call any of those from an interface?

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Certified Lead Developer

Here is the example.

a!localVariables(
     local!dataSet1: a!queryEntity(
          entity: cons!DSE_EMP,
          query: a!query(
            logicalexpression: a!queryLogicalExpression(
              operator: "AND",
              filters: {
                a!queryFilter(
                  field: "name",
                  operator: "starts with",
                  value: "A"
                )
              }
            ),
            pagingInfo: a!pagingInfo(
              startIndex: 1,
              batchSize: 5
            )
          )
        ).data,
        local!dataSet2: a!queryEntity(
          entity: cons!DSE_DEPT,
          query: a!query(
            logicalexpression: a!queryLogicalExpression(
              operator: "AND",
              filters: {
                a!queryFilter(
                  field: "name",
                  operator: "in",
                  value: {index(local!dataSet1,"name",{})}
                )
              }
            ),
            pagingInfo: a!pagingInfo(
              startIndex: 1,
              batchSize: 5
            )
          )
        ).data,
        local!dataSet2
    )

Certified Lead Developer