When should I use gridField over Record Type?

Hi everyone, I'm new to Appian and I'm trying to create some interaces.

What I want do is showing in a table some data. My doubts are regarding when I should prefer gridField over Record Type. I'm able to achieve the "same" result with both.

I've also read Using Record Type https://docs.appian.com/suite/help/20.1/Using_the_Records_Tab.html#:~:text=Unlike%20traditional%20records%2C%20or%20the,the%20context%20of%20that%20information.

In gridField I use queryEntity and then I put in columns my values, while in Record Type I just follow interface steps.

In case you had to show a table with values and then clicking on a row you have to save the value a query another entity to show another table in the same page, which of the two solution would follow? Why?

Thank you

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Parents
    Certified Lead Developer

You're comparing apples to SUVs.  They're not even remotely the same category.

A Record Type corresponds to a single row in a database, usually a row of a View that you expressly make for the purpose of being a Record.  It's a cohesive collection of related data to be evaluated, examined, and manipulated as a collective whole, in a uniquely Appian sort of way.

A gridField is an interface component.  It shows multiple rows of data in tabular form on any interface you want, even the interfaces of a Record.

You can make a Record Type, and in the Summary page of the Record that you can make you can make a gridField.  Or any of the other pages of the Record.  The record list which contains the list details for you to select one Record among them can be displayed as a grid, and then all full of gridFields on every page when you pick one.

Find what data makes a cohesive whole to make a Record.

Find what data WITHIN the Record would best be displayed as a grid, then use a gridField to display it.

Certified Lead Developer
    in reply to Dave Lewis