Creating a record type with datasoruce Database

Certified Associate Developer

Hallo community,

I am fairly new to Appian but spent a fair share of time with training and playing around with different use cases.

Unfortunately I cannot get to understand how to correctly create a record type without the need to create a CDT and Datastore first.

Since I have to configure a datasource (in my case: Database) I identified two options:

Option 1 - Create a new table in the databsae

In the process of creating a data model of the  record type ("Tell us about your data"), I then select as datasource the newly created table

Option 2 - Create a CDT and Datastore first

Then again, in the process of creating a data model of the  record type ("Tell us about your data"), I then select as datasource the newly created table

Disadvantage: Once I create Actions for this Record type, CDT, Datastore and Data store entity are created new again and i Have duplicates in my application or completely ignore the wizard and configure the actions manually.

Is there any other way (besides choosing a different datasource like Salesforce or WebAPI) or recommended sequence in creating this record type?

Thank you for any hint.

Boris

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Certified Lead Developer

My preferred way of working is to go CDT->DataStore->DB and let Appian do the schema management. As the automatically created actions and interfaces do never fit my requirements, I ignore this altogether.

• Hi, If you have to retain the naming convention for your tables in the Cloud Database, create a table in Database and reflect the same in Appian. You would have to choose CDT and select the option, "Create from existing database Table". In this way you can follow two naming conventions for Database and camel casing for CDT.

In Tell us About your Data, directly search for the table you created.

Certified Lead Developer