How to use customFieldPicker to get its selected value

Hi everyone,

I am new to Appian and facing challenges in using customFieldPicker, we need to implement:

Do we have any Field where user can search for exiting list of values from database, and if value(text column in our case) is not there in the list then whatever value user has typed in can be written to DB on the form submission. Later the value will become part of the list.

We implemented it like this:

We have one table having 2 fields- id and text only. The ER we created is attached below:

We are unable to save the value. Please let me know what I am doing wrong.

Thank you!

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Parents
  • Additionally, and strangely enough, I just posted a solution for almost the exact same question 3 days ago in this thread..

Basically what we do in this case where we need to use the picker component only, is append the search value to the searchFunction (when it does not exist) in the datasubset that is returned to the picker.  Query for data, return data+search.

After the form is submitted, query the DB to see if the selected value actually exists, and if not, write it to the list.

Certified Lead Developer
    in reply to Chris
    append the search value to the searchFunction (when it does not exist) in the datasubset that is returned to the picker

Oh nice, I was wondering how this would work.  I feel like I must've seen something similar before, but TBH i use the function so infrequently I usually forget.  The only thing I've used it for in the past that I really like is an "alternate user picker" i made, which allows users to be picked from the DB, and can include deactivated folks (and can allow them to be searched by their DB PKID, which we expose to the end users as the person's personal ID).  But of course for this there's no need for adding entries via component trickery.

Certified Lead Developer
    in reply to Chris