Understand how Appian Handles Decisioning Concepts

Certified Lead Developer

Hi team,

I have a flow where in which I have to create a offer or Coupon to a set of customers who have that eligibility.

Example:

In Swiggy or Zomato (Food Delivery App) , Some coupons like Welcome or Save60 offers are Available for New customers.

but if the customer  who frequently make orders should get some different Offers so for that 

1. I  have to make a dataset of customers who make orders frequently.

2. create some different offers for those dataset.

3.enable that offers in some channel.

This is how I did when I Implemented with different BPM tool those are done by Decisioning capabilities of that Tool.

Now iam trying these same flow in Appian . Can i get any help in understanding  how these are done in appian as  I am new to this , I couldn't able to get any decisioning Rules other than Decision (Table).

I want to know how datasets & Channels are configured and how offers are created.

Mainly I have to understand how Appian Helps in Solving Decisioning Concepts like in above case.

Thank you,

J Vinay

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Parents
    Certified Lead Developer

I honestly wonder if this isn't way overthinking.

It looks like you only have 2 categories of users: frequent and non-frequent.  (You could have 3 if you wanted, including former-frequent if there should be special deals to get them ordering a lot like they once were.)

It looks like you only have 2 categories of offers: those for frequent, those for not frequent. (Could possibly have 3.)

Behold, the if() function. 

if(

local!ordersInPastMonth > 12 [I don't know what constitutes a frequent user, but whatever business rule it is],

a!update(ri!customer, "status", "frequent"),

{}

)

Then elsewhere in the code, if(ri!customer.status = "frequent", rule!offersForFrequent(), rule!offersForNotFrequent() )