Create process model to create a record type "Order" and multiple record types "Product Variation"

Hello everyone. I am new in Appian and am trying to build a web app "Canteen" as part of my learning path.

Couldn't find anything in other posts as I don't know how to search it.

So my issue is the following...

I have a Canteen Menu where each user can select products to add in the cart. On the interface I build a list of

product variations (with a tempId in order to update something since I haven't saved anything on DB). When I press

the "Place Order" button, I want to create a new "Order" with some fields and then get the ID of the created record.

Then I will use the orderId and create the related "Product Variations" from the selected products list.

How can I do this in the process model?

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Parents
    Certified Lead Developer

Your UI looks great!

You do that in the process model just as you explained it. Write the order first, then copy the ID to the items and write these.

Another option is, to use related records, build that structure in the rule input and let Appian do the copy-ID stuff.

https://docs.appian.com/suite/help/23.4/record-type-relationships.html

• Thank you Stefan! Slight smile I am a Web Developer with Wordpress and UI is important when I do things... I was hoping I could do more though in APPIAN. I will get used to it... Stuck out tongue

Anyway, as I said am new to Appian and started working on this project for 10-15 days... I feel like am progressing slowly. 

I have the related record functions created from the beginning but don't know If I can use them again to combine my processes...

I think what Harshit said above is what will be the solution but still struggling...

Certified Senior Developer
    in reply to christodoulosp0001
    I have the related record functions created from the beginning but don't know If I can use them again to combine my processes...