CDT vs Record Type

Hi,

I am very new to Appian and i am going through some of the courses, which i think are very helpful.

I am reading and learning about CDT and Record Type. They look similar to me but i am sure there is something that i am missing. When would you use one vs another (example)? Appreciate your help and comments as i navigate and learn Appian.

Thank you!

Discussion posts and replies are publicly visible

Certified Lead Developer

A CDT is just a data structure which can be used in various places in applications. Examples are: customer data, invoice data, request data

A record type is the connector for data, UI and processes and typically reflects the main business objects. Examples are similar to above, but are not just the data structure, but the data itself including UI representation and processes acting on that data.

1. CDTs. All data in the world of programming needs to be "typed". You have "primitive" types (String, Boolean, Integer etc) that cannot be decomposed into anything smaller. And then you have "complex" types which are assemblies of primitive and/or other complex types. An "Address" might be a complex type, made up of, say, 4 lines of the address, a zip code and a country, all of which can be of a string type. You can use CDTs to map to database entities (tables, views). Note: not all CDTs HAVE to map to database entities. You can have a CDT in your application layer that is juts used locally to hold a set of related data for the purposes of processing locally.